Knutsford Hockey End the Season on a High | Knutsford Times

Knutsford Hockey End the Season on a High

By on March 22, 2010

The event being held at Leicester Warren Hall, Knutsford, for the first time was a major success.  All 90 attendees had a fantastic time and danced until the early hours, however before the dancing came the awards.

First up were the Captains to present their Player of the Year awards.    The Mens 1st XI award presented by Mat Hodge went to Simon ‘Scully’ McCoy who had been inspirational in goal this year, despite his advancing years.

Nick Pedlow, the Mens 2nd XI captain, presented his award to Joel Evans.  This 17 year old has come on leaps and bounds this year and should be looking to starting next season in the Club’s first string.    Joel was also presented with the 2nd teams Players Player of the Year, being rewarded for his enthusiasm, passion and commitment to the team.

Matt Robbins was the recipient of Steve Hope’s Mens 3rd XI player of the season award.  The junior goalkeeper of the Club has improved significantly over the course of the year.   Matt was also the recipient of the 3rd team’s Players Player of the year too. 

The Ladies 1st XI Captain’s award presented by Sarah Fielding went to Nat Riley who has been the team’s leading goal scorer this season.  Nat was also presented with the Players Player of the Year too being described as a nightmare for the opposition and a consistently good player.

The final Captain’s award for the Ladies 2nd XI was given to Susie Hough.   It had been a close run thing for captain Paterson but in the end Susie came out the winner for her consistent performances all season.

The final Players Player of the Year went to Dan Allan in the Mens 1st team.  Dan had been consistent all season despiting playing in a number of different positions.    Vicky Royle was the recipient of the Ladies 2nd XI award, for coming to every game full of enthusiasm and energy.

A new award was introduced this year by current Chairman Howard Taylor.    The Chairman’s Award will be presented to thank the member who has done a great deal for the Club during each season.   This year’s nominees were Johnny Price for his coaching of the Ladies section and his umpiring across the Club, Heather Paterson for her work with the Ladies 2nd team, Nick Pedlow for his work with the Junior section of the Club and the winner Joel Evans for his enthusiasm & passion in getting the 3rd XI juniors involved, helping organise the team and generally being a good club man – which included buying every piece of kit possible.

There was a presentation given to Tristan and Kate Baddeley who are emigrating to Australia during the summer.   Tristan has been a regular member of the 1st XI and Kate has helped out with the administration side required by the North league.   They will both be missed.

The final award of the night – expertly presented by Martin Baker – was the Fun Award.   The funniest stories of the season were re-told and the winner was Steve Torrie.

So, the 2009/10 season is almost at an end and in September the Club starts its Centenary Year celebrations on Saturday 11th September with its Opening Ceremony and Family Fun Day at Knutsford Leisure Centre.  More details to follow…..


About Janice Tasho

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Real Time Analytics