Ambulance Service celebrates clinical excellence across Cheshire and Mersey | Knutsford Times

Ambulance Service celebrates clinical excellence across Cheshire and Mersey

By on August 13, 2019

Celebrating those who have demonstrated the highest levels of patient care and innovation across Cheshire and Merseyside, North West Ambulance Service (NWAS) has held its second ever Achieving Clinical Excellence (ACE) Awards last week.

The ceremony, which took place on Tuesday 30 July at Formby Hall Golf Club, was hosted by Dave Kitchin, Head of Service.  Chief Executive, Daren Mochrie and Chair, Peter White presented eleven awards to individuals, teams of staff and also external agencies. Winners were rewarded for their clinical excellence and achievements over the past year.

Daren Mochrie, Chief Executive says: “The awards are an opportunity to reward our professional employees who are committed to delivering the highest quality of patient care as well as members of the public who have stepped in to make a real difference.  As chief executive I am extremely proud to recognise such outstanding achievements.”

The categories and award winners were:

  • Consultant Paramedic Award – Leona Blayney, Craig Butterworth, Gary Fitzpatrick, Gareth Owen, Jade Parry, Danielle Shaw
  • Advanced Paramedic Award – Wayne Evans, Dylan Hughes, Jessica Heath
  • Clinical Leadership Award – Andy Baines
  • Supporting Clinical Excellence Award – Cheshire & Mersey Fleet Team
  • Mentor of the Year – Paul Campbell
  • Student of the Year – Samuel Hebden
  • Communication Centre Award – EOC Orange Team
  • Innovation and Change Award – Darren Earley
  • Patient Choice Award – Sarah Camplin, Andrew Hazley, Michael Jackson, Diane McGann, Aaron Murray, Michael Quirk, Stephen Rickards
  • Everyday Hero Award – Total Fitness, Crewe
  • The John Harrison Award for Outstanding Achievement – Peter Fisher, Danielle Phelan and Andrew Carter-Sweeney

Winners were selected from peer nominations by a judging panel consisting of Head of Service, Dave Kitchin, Consultant Paramedics for Cheshire and Mersey, Nick Sutcliffe and John Collins alongside the trust’s Medical Director, Dr Chris Grant.

Maxine Power, Director of Quality, Innovation and Improvement chose the winner of the Innovation and Change Award. This was presented to Senior Paramedic Team Leader, Darren Earley who has developed a tool to support NWAS clinicians when treating patients with mental health concerns.

The John Harrison Award is in memory of Dr John Harrison, the trust’s former associate medical director who exemplified the highest clinical standards of care. The recipient of this award was emergency services team, Peter Fisher, Danielle Phelan and Andrew Carter-Sweeney who were recognised for outstanding professionalism when faced with a colleague having a medical emergency. Their award was presented by John Harrison’s wife, Margaret, along with their colleague who thanked the team for their life-saving actions.

Staff from Total Fitness in Crewe were given this year’s Everyday Hero Award. Thanks to their training, quick thinking and use of the defibrillator on site, the team were able to help save the lives of two people in separate incidents just three months apart.

All winners were presented with a certificate and award to recognise their actions.

About Lucy Thorpe

Lucy Thorpe is a freelance journalist who writes for the Knutsford Times - covering stories and news in and around Cheshire and Greater Manchester. If you've got a story to share, or would like to speak to Lucy, please email

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Real Time Analytics