A Visit to a Stately House that No Longer Exists? | Knutsford Times

A Visit to a Stately House that No Longer Exists?

By on November 13, 2012

The Friends of Tabley are well known for coming up with original ideas for fund-raising events, but the next one is unusual even by their standards!

Tabley Old Hall was originally a mediaeval mansion, built on an island in the middle of a lake. It was largely abandoned by the Leycester family when they moved into the present 18th century House, although it did continue to be used for recreational purposes.

Since then, it has deteriorated and crumbled until very little remains.   The exception was the chapel, which was dismantled stone by stone in the 1930’s, ferried across the lake and rebuilt next to the main House – itself an amazing story.

On Thursday November 15th at 2.30pm, Sarah Webb, a Trustee of the Tabley House Collection, will create a “Virtual Tour” of the old house as it was in Victorian and Edwardian times.

Using plans, inventories, picture postcards, rarely seen photographs and and visitors’ accounts, this will be a unique opportunity to “visit”  the Old Hall as it was in its heyday as a tourist attraction. After the talk, there will be tea and cakes (including some “makroons”, made to an 18th century recipe).

Entry £14 (£12 Friends) Anna Smyth on 01565 651 979 or anna.smyth@ntlworld.com

About Geoff Holman

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Real Time Analytics